Photo from Saint James School

AISA has been serving independent schools in Alabama since 1970.

Scholars' Bowl

The AISA is excited to announce a new partnership for our scholars bowl competition.  At the middle school and high school level, we have partnered with the Alabama Scholastic Competition Association (ASCA).  This partnership will automatically allow the winners of the AISA State Scholars Bowl tournaments to now advance to the ASCA state tournament.  We will still utilize the NAQT test series and winners of our state competitions will still be eligible of national competitions.

In doing this, we have now adopted the ASCA rules for competitions.  Please review these rules as they are different from our previous rules.  All AISA middle school and high school teams participating in district/state will also be required to be members of ASCA. This membership has a lot of benefits and opportunities and we hope all AISA will take advantage of this opportunity and participate in many of their related events.

If you have questions about ASCA, visit their website at or if you have membership questions, contact Claudette Smith ( ) or Josh Rutsky ( ).

Registration Forms:

Check on the available resources to study from: 

NAQT (National Academic Quiz Tournaments) 

AISA District High School (grades 9-12) Scholars' Bowl Competition Date:  February 6, 2019AISA State High School  Scholars' Bowl Competition Date:  March 7, 2019 at Huntingdon College, Montgomery
AISA District Middle School (grades 6-8) Scholars' Bowl  Competition Date:  December 5, 2018AISA State Middle School  Scholars' Bowl Competition Date: January 28, 2019 Huntingdon College

The 2018 AISA State HS Scholars' Bowl Winners are:

PlaceSchoolTeam MembersSponsors
1st PlaceBayside AcademyGrayson York
Ty Kannegieter
Chris Miller
Aubrey Engeriser
Elsa Engeriser—A 
Mary Ann Willis
2nd PlaceThe Donoho SchoolJames Perry
Madelyn Thompson
Brijesh Senthilkmar
Anna Ulrey
Shelley Phillips—A Grayson Marlowe—A
Lynde Nanson
High Individual ScorerThe Donoho SchoolJames Perry

The 2018 AISA State MS Scholars' Bowl Winners are:

PlaceSchoolTeam MembersSponsors
1st PlaceFaith AcademyRyan Piggott
Bradley Zinck
Lukas Caldwell
Vinny Nguyen
Kara Kelsoe—A
Sam Ward—A  
Cindy Bostick
2nd PlaceRussell Christian AcademyCarter Phillips
Garrett Phillips
Eli Coleman
Madison Hines
Ryley Reynolds—A Zoie McClure—A 
Cindy Martin
High Individual ScorerHouston AcademyKinion FowlerEmily Blumberg

Benefits of Membership

Member schools have voluntarily joined the AISA and follow the guidelines and standards in order to provide a quality school and in order to provide a quality school program.

Learn More

Sign Up for our Newsletter

To receive updates by email, feel free to sign up for our newsletter.